Today’s Close-up: Mermaid Eyes Oh My!

Since starting this blog, I realize the need to provide my readers with perhaps some more adventurous, fun, and interesting makeup looks, in addition to my everyday, mostly neutral faces.  Using my Sephora Blockbuster Palette (see my post on this palette for more information!) I decided to branch out and try out some of the shades that I have never worn before in my life.  When moving away from my basic taupes, grays, and browns, I tend to like using shades of navy and plum for a nice change of pace.  Today’s close-up will feature shades that remind me of the bluish-green/turquoise/teal iridescence I would imagine a mermaid’s tail to have when jumping out of the water and into the sun.  (Does this description make me sound like I’m totally into mermaids or something?  I’m not!)

Here’s today’s close-up:

I’m providing multiple shots because I’m not too camera savvy about the proper lighting needed for the most realistic colors.  Will be working on my picture taking skills 🙂

On my eyes–

  • Paula Dorf Eye Color in Matte Cherub all over my eyelid from lashline to underneath my brows
  • Sephora Blockbuster Palette Eyeshadow in a pearl shimmer shade (the shade is not shown in above photo!) applied from lashline to where my crease would be
  • Sephora Blockbuster Palette Eyeshadow in a teal shimmer shade (3rd from the left in above photo!) applied on top of the pearl shimmer shade (for a softer effect) and lining my lower lashline
  • Sephora Blockbuster Palette Eyeshadow in a light goldish-olive shade (2nd from the left in above photo–shade is showing up much more gray than it really is!) brushed on the center of my eyelids
  • Styli-Style Line & Seal 24 Twist in Brown Quartz lining my top lashline as well as the inner rims of my lower lashlines
  • E.L.F. Mechanical Eyelash Curler to curl my lashes
  • Shiseido Nourishing Mascara Base applied to my top lashes only
  • Maybelline Define-a-Lash Waterproof Mascara in Black applied 2 coats to both top and bottom lashes
  • Eyecurl II Heated Eyelash Curler used in between each coat of mascara to help set the curl even more

I will not be providing a breakdown on the rest of the products used for today’s close-up, but feel free to ask about any specifics!

What do you think of my “mermaid” eyes close-up?  Will you try out this look?   What are your go-to colors besides neutrals?  Share your thoughts!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Yoon Lee
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 11:16:21

    Amy, quick question. Do you think the ELF eyelash curler is better than the Sheseido (sp?) one sold at Sephora? The latter is the one I’ve been using for years upon recommendation by you but I see that now you are using ELF’s. Please advise.

    Thanks!
    Sue

    Reply

  2. The Word On Beauty
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 12:36:05

    From strictly a price point of view, E.L.F.’s eyelash curler is only $1 compared to higher end brand’s ~$15-25. The E.L.F. curler provides a very “crimped” look versus a curled look so that’s one thing to keep in mind. However, the E.L.F. eyelash curler is very comfortable to hold in your hands because of the plastic grooves for your fingers unlike other curlers that you’re supposed to just hold onto the metal. I think with the E.L.F. eye lashcurler only being a $1, you really have nothing to lose. If you don’t like it, then just go out and buy one from Shu Umera or Shiseido and keep the E.L.F. curler as a backup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Word on Beauty blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

