Today’s Close-up: A Need for Speed aka I’m Just Being Lazy Makeup Look!

How long is too long to do your makeup?  Some might say five minutes and others might say an hour plus.  Well, on average my everyday makeup look that I would, for example wear to work (I’m a fifth grade teacher!) takes approximately twenty minutes or so and provides me with a polished, professional, and presentable look that I’m very satisfied with.  I realize that not everyone enjoys the process of “putting on their face” as much as I do and would think twenty minutes is way too long for just putting on makeup, so I wanted to share with you a close-up of a FIVE MINUTE makeup look that I sometimes use when I’m either in a rush, just running errands, or simply being lazy (which in the summertime when I’m not teaching is almost everyday-haha!).  Even though many of you may think this five minute makeup look would be great as my everyday look and I thank you for the compliments, but I know that I feel a bit more confident about how I look when I have an extra fifteen minutes to “work” on my face 🙂

Here is today’s close-up:

On my face:

  • Rimmel London Fix & Perfect Foundation Primer spread evenly all over my face with my fingers
  • Smashbox Halo Hydrating Perfecting Powder in Medium lightly brushed all over my face
  • Pur Minerals Mineral Glow (bronzing powder with a light gold shimmer) lightly brushed on the high points of my face where the sun would naturally hit (cheeks, forehead, nose, and chin)
  • Jane Be Pure Mineral Blush in Rose Satin brushed on my cheekbones and concentrated on the apples of my cheeks

On my eyes:

  • Clinique Quick Eyes Cream Shadow in Sea Shell rubbed lightly all over my eyelids from lashline to just underneath my eyebrow using my fingers
  • MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Cream in #15 Taupe rubbed lightly on my lashline and blended out halfway onto my eyelids (where my crease would be) using my fingers
  • Styli-Style Line & Seal 24 Twist in Brown Quartz lining my upper lashline and the inner rims of my lower lashlines
  • Maybelline Define-A-Lash Volume Waterproof Mascara in Black on my lashes (I did curl my lashes with my E.L.F. Mechanical Eyelash Curler prior to the mascara application)

On my lips:

  • Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick in Rosy Nude applied straight from the tube onto my lips

The finished close-up:

When you only have five minutes to “put on your face,” what are your must have beauty products?  How long does your everyday makeup look take you to complete and what products are you using for that look?  Share your thoughts!  Feedback is much appreciated!  Remember, although I claim to be “The Word On Beauty,” I’m definitely not the “final” word on beauty so please don’t be shy and contribute 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlene
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 23:56:40

    Thanks loads for the tips! Have you tried the E.L.F. eyeshadow primer? It’s my holy grail for eyeshadow primers and so cheap!! I also love L’oreal’s Extra Volume Collagen mascara (it’s a fat black tube), makes my lashes so long and soft (unlike most mascaras which make them stiff!) thought I would share it! P.S. I’m a newbie here, but loving your blog 🙂 🙂

    Reply

    • The Word On Beauty
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 18:59:12

      You’re very welcome Charlene! I’m so glad that you are able to learn from my blog! You’ve got to stay tuned because I’ll be eventually vlogging on YouTube as well in the near future with more tips, reviews, tutorials, etc.!

      Now to your tips–I haven’t tried E.L.F.’s eyeshadow primer…I’m actually not really an eyeshadow primer kind of gal because I’ve never had the real need for an eyeshadow primer because my shadow never really creases, BUT I did recently buy my first eyeshadow primer from NYX because I heard that Coastal Scents and BH Cosmetics eyeshadow palettes sometimes have poor color payoff. Once I run out of my NYX primer, I’ll have to go buy E.L.F.’s! I never feel too bad purchasing anything from E.L.F. since everything (or at least most everything) is around $1!! Got to love that!

      As far as the mascara you mentioned, do you know if it comes in a waterproof formula?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Word on Beauty blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

