OPI Nail Lacquer vs. Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure? And the winner is…

My youngest sister, Joyce and I decided to do a girls night in and treated ourselves to pedicures with the new nail polishes we just purchased at Ulta earlier today.  I personally do not care a whole lot about my nails, which is quite shocking since I’m pretty much obsessed with almost all other things related to beauty, and therefore, I rarely spend a lot of money on purchasing high end, high quality nail polishes such as those made by Essie and OPI.  Instead I usually purchase whatever brand is on sale as long as it’s under $5 or so.  Joyce on the other hand really enjoys giving herself manis and pedis quite often and she swears that the pricier nail polish brands are definitely worth the money due to the smoother application and lasting color without chipping.  I was curious to find out if there was any truth to what she was saying so I am going to give you our immediate feedback on the nail polishes we each used and then follow-up in a week or so with the remainder of my review.

On the left I selected the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Naked Ambition #210 ($7.99 at Ulta) and to the right Joyce selected the OPI Nail Lacquer in Feelin’ Hot-Hot-Hot! #NL B77 ($9.95 at Ulta with a bonus OPI clear topcoat and mini cosmetics bag).  You might be thinking that I spent more than I normally do on nail polish, but the only reason I did so this time was that Sally Hansen claims that this nail polish replaces the need for a base coat, nail strengthener, top coat, and of course nail color all in one.  Dividing the ~$8 I spent on my nail polish by the 4 products it claims to replace, the nail polish was only $2 then!

Since I do not normally wear a lot of nail color, I tend to gravitate towards really pale neutral sheer shades of pinky-beige.  Not only does this type of shade work with all of my wardrobe colors, but it also does not show the oh so obvious chips that would need to be fixed right away otherwise.  It’s really the perfect shade of nail polish for lazy nail people such as myself 🙂  The only downside I find with these light shades is that they tend to go on streaky due to the paleness and sheerness of the polish, as well as the ridges in my nails that I tend to overlook and not file down.  Joyce went for a fun and flirty Barbie pink shade which is a bit more on the girly and feminine side than I’m used to seeing her in (she usually prefers the dark intense blackish plums–don’t worry, she’s not GOTH or anything like that).

Please excuse my disgusting, dry, vein-y, man-like feet!  I would normally never subject anyone to looking at a photo of my feet, but I wanted to give you a picture of how the polish turned out on my toes.  Joyce’s feet look cute though 🙂

The Lowdown on my Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Naked Ambition #210 is this:

*very pretty, pale, low-shimmer, pinkish beige in the bottle

*with one coat, the color was quite sheer and looked very streaky on my nails

*with two coats, the color was still a bit sheer and didn’t look like the color in the bottle yet, still streaky as well

*with my third and final coat is what you see in the photo above; the color on my toes pretty much looks like the color in the bottle

*the polish itself had a decent consistency, but my sister, Joyce who tried it on her fingernails thought the formula was a bit too thick

*the brush applicator is flat and wide, unlike traditional nail polish brushes

*I thought the unique brush made it fairly easy to apply the polish onto my toenails, but Joyce mentioned the flat and wide brush was difficult to maneuver around the rounded edges of her fingernails

The Lowdown on the OPI Nail Lacquer in in Feelin’ Hot-Hot-Hot! #NL B77 is this:

*a medium-toned rosy-pink shade that leans a bit on the warmer side in the bottle, no shimmer

*one coat gave decent color, but Joyce used two full coats to get her nail color to match the bottle color

*standard brush applicator which Joyce said made the polish easy to apply on both toenails and fingernails

*Joyce raved about the smooth consistency of her OPI polish, not too thin and runny, but also not too thick which she says can turn into clumpy polish (she’s predicted my Sally Hansen polish will eventually get thicker and clumpier on me with time)

*no base coat was applied, but Joyce did use her new OPI clear topcoat she got as a bonus with her nail color

At the end of the week I will be following up on the staying power of both nail polishes and hopefully have an answer to whether or not high end nail polishes can live up to their high costs.

What do you think about high end nail polishes/products versus more budget friendly nail polishes/products?  Do you have any favorite nail polishes to suggest?  Has anyone found the perfect pale pinky-beige nail polish that never goes on streaky and doesn’t take a ton of coats to get true color?  Share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Word on Beauty blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

