To keep or not to keep…that is the question!

Stuart Weitzman "Alex" Wedges

So I am in a bit of a pickle…perhaps you can help me out?

I have had my eyes on these beautiful shoes for a couple of years now since I first saw Jennifer Aniston wearing them in an US magazine.  She was wearing them with khaki shorts, a basic white tank top and these Stuart Weitzman “Alex” wedges–I thought she looked stunning even though the description I’m sure sounds boring and dull to you.  The shoes seemed to take her rather dressed down look and turned it up a notch by taking her simple outfit and “wowing” everyone with her statement wedges!

I didn’t think much else of it back then, but when I saw these shoes again this year in another celebrity magazine being worn by Jennifer Aniston (again, even after a couple of years!), Rachel McAdams, and Emmy Rossum, these Stuart Weitzman “Alex” wedges were giving me that same butterflies in my stomach feeling that I had when I first had seen them.  This time around I started researching online where these shoes were available since Seattle doesn’t have a Stuart Weitzman boutique and it turned out that all the shoe websites I came across were all out of stock!  So to my disappointment, I shoved the thought of these shoes into the back of my mind along with all the other “lustworthy” items I’ve been craving.

Yet, amazingly enough when my husband and I went down to Los Angeles this summer to visit his brother and wife, fate would have other plans for me.  Every trip to L.A. my husband allows me to indulge in my L.A. lifestyle envy by having lunch at The Ivy (we always see someone “famous”–usually B-list actors, but who cares, they’re still famous!), shop on Robertson Boulevard (or “window shop”), and then stroll down Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills to “window shop” once more, although I really have no business of even looking down there since the only items I might be able to afford are a pair of socks or something of that nature!  So here I am with my husband taking a leisurely walk along Rodeo Drive “ooooohing” and “ahhhhhing” over the various articles of clothing or accessories that I have recently seen on the E! Channel and to my surprise we come to, of all things, a STUART WEITZMAN boutique!  It must be fate I tell my husband and demand that we go inside.  Once inside I quickly take a scan of the store and finally see the ever so breathtaking “Alex” wedges in person finally!  I casually ask the sales associate if they happen to have size 6.5 in stock…in my head I was hoping yes they would have them in stock just to try them on and at the same time also hoping that they wouldn’t because I already knew I was in love with them and had to have them!

So you guessed it…they had my size!  I slipped them on and paraded around the store for about fifteen minutes trying to convince myself that they just weren’t worth the ~$400 (this may not sound like a lot to some of you and indeed I do own two pairs of Cole Haan boots that cost roughly the same but were on sale for ~$200 each which was of course justifiable, BUT this is a bit outrageously overpriced for a pair of wedges), but to my sorrow–actually my husband’s sorrow–I couldn’t leave the store without them instead!  Destiny and fate must have willed me into getting these shoes!

I’ve got these beautiful wedges now in my possession–what could be the problem?  MAJOR BUYER’S REMORSE!!  I live in Seattle, WA let me remind you; therefore, these shoes which I have decided to wear in only dry weather is now limited to roughly about 75 days a year or so.  Shoes of this nature must be shown off with shorts or at least capri length pants–the climate in the Pacific NW does not always facilitate shorts attire!  And again the cost, which my husband likes to remind me, is likely to be equivalent to some people’s monthly income (which I find hard to believe??).

With all things considered, can I really justify this purchase?  Let me know your thoughts!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 11:14:51

    Keep the shoes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Word on Beauty blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

